I refinish furniture?

When I moved back to Yakima a few months ago, I inherited this big old dresser from my parents.  They were practically begging me to take it because when I say this thing is big what I really mean is that it’s huge.  It’s probably about 5 or 6 feet long.  It’s pretty cool looking though.  It was my Mom’s mom’s so it’s been in the family for a few generations.  When Krisanna was in town she showed me another blog she enjoys; DesignSpongeOnline.com.  It focuses on interior design and there are very cool “before & afters” of people refinishing and painting old furniture.  I was inspired to do this myself.  Although I’ve NEVER refinished or painted a piece of furniture (successfully anyways), I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to do it.  I once painted an old side table of mine.  It was really cute, but it was green and I decided I wanted it to be black.  So I painted it without sanding it or priming it or really doing anything to it but paint it.  I kept it around for a couple more years, but it was permanently sticky.

This time around I WILL sand it, I WILL prime it, and it WILL turn out beautifully.  The only problem is that I don’t know what color to paint it.  I was thinking a mustard yellow, but that might be a little much.  And then I thought maybe bright blue, but my new duvet cover is blue and that would be blue over-load.  Now I’m leaning towards maybe dark purple?  I don’t know.  I need help.  Any suggestions?  I’ll post a picture just so you can all get an idea of what I’m workin’ with.

Of course, I’m also going to put new hardware on it.  And I’m even thinking about maybe decoupaging the top of it with something cool.  I don’t know!  Help!

6 Comments

Filed under Completely Off Topic

6 responses to “I refinish furniture?

  1. Luanne Littleton Stoltz

    Since you are interested in bright colors maybe you should go the Twist route and paint it ALL those colors. Choose one for the body, then paint the drawers different colors in a random pattern. Get a bunch of different, interesting knobs, voila! Art for a dresser. BTW I think that used to be Grammy Lou and Popo’s . Remember – it’s only paint. If you don’t like – paint it again!

  2. Luanne Littleton Stoltz

    I found a picture I want to send you… how do I post it?

  3. I don’t know if you can…if it’s on the internet you could just send me the link to it!

  4. Krisanna

    I love the idea of a deep/dark purple!! There is one on designsponge someone did in that color palate. You can do it!!! p.s. remember to ask the paint people which paint is best on wood and high traffic/use…you don’t want it to turn out sticky again!

  5. Kayce

    go with mustard yellow… i like that idea.

  6. Um, so I googled “dark purple dresser” and this came up http://llnw.thesims3.com/assetDetail.html?assetId=1493427
    Is it a bad sign that the ONLY dark purple dresser google image could find was a cartoon one? I think purple just got nixed…

Leave a Reply

