Tofu Bandwagon

Let me start this post off by making one thing very clear: I DO NOT LIKE TOFU. Every time I’ve had it I have never been all that impressed. I think the only time I’ve ever really enjoyed it was in miso soup or in the vegetarian pad thai from Sugar Thai. And enjoyed is a strong word. It was more like I didn’t really mind it being there. I could take it or leave it. Some of my pals would talk about baked tofu and how delicious it is and I was skeptical. Although I wasn’t a huge tofu fan I wanted to like it! It seemed like something I should like. I like most healthy foods and I try to incorporate things that my body thanks me for later into my every day diet.
So last night I decided to throw caution to the wind and try this way of preparing this food that is pretty foreign to me.

I researched how to bake it extensively until I came upon a method I felt like was fairly trustworthy and easy to execute. Yet another blog I follow KathEats. She seemed to be a professional on the matter so I followed suit. The only thing I did that she said was unnecessary was set weight on top of my tofu. Which means I placed a paper towel on a plate, put my block of tofu on top of that, another paper towel on top of that, and a heavy book on top of THAT! It takes all the excess moisture out of the tofu and makes it extra firm. The ONLY reason I knew to do this was because Alton Brown said to do it and if Alton commands I listen!

After my tofu had a heavy book on it for about 20 minutes I cut my tofu into little bite sized slices. I would say it was about 35 pieces.

Salt and pepper those puppies!
Then I got a little crazy…
I took out some of this

and schmered it ALL over both sides of my baby tofus. (that jarred curry is from Trader Joe’s and I highly recommend trying it.)
Curry baked tofu? Yeah. I went there.
Then I followed that with some cayenne pepper!
I know! Crazy! I like spicy. Don’t judge.
I sprayed a cookie sheet with some non-stick spray and spread them out

Into the oven at 450 degrees, or until you think they look done.
ENJOY!

They were crunchy and chewy and delicious! I had to put most of them in the fridge cause I wasn’t all that hungry so I’ll be interested to see how they are as left overs…

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Tofu Bandwagon

  1. chop them smaller and put them in stir fry for leftovers if they aren’t good on their own. Or fried rice.

Leave a Reply

