An Eventful Monday Evening

This week I am on a healthy eating mission since we ate twice our body weight every day we were at the beach last week. So, naturally, I texted Sarah to see if she wanted to have girl’s night early this week. I made promises of a delicious healthy meal AND an unwatched episode of True Blood on my DVR. She couldn’t resist. I got home and was instantly hungry after work but dinner wasn’t for a couple of hours. I decided to try out something I’ve been wanting to try for awhile; baked kale chips.

Almost every review I read about these chips said they tasted just like potato chips. I am here to tell you they do not. Don’t shoot the messenger! They are pretty tasty but I don’t want you to read a review and see a future of healthy potato-chip-like nirvana and then blame me when they taste like crunchy kale. Still, they were good and I didn’t regret making them. I just wish everyone wouldn’t have told me they taste like potato chips.

For dinner I decided to make a healthier version of shrimp scampi. Instead of pasta I used quinoa, which I’ve been wanting to try for awhile. It was really delicious and super easy to make.
I chopped up a shallot and I think 3 cloves of garlic super tiny.

A tablespoon of butter, two tablespoons of olive oil into a hot pan
Toss in a pound of frozen shrimp until pink
Remove shrimp and add one more tablespoon of butter and a drizzle of olive oil
Add a splash of white wine, salt and pepper
Chop up 1/4 of a bunch of parsley and throw that in there
Put shrimp back into pan

Follow directions on package for quinoa

Put a couple spoon fulls of quinoa into your bowl
Top with shrimp and pour some of that sauce over it
Grate some parm on top and enjoy!

I know, I know…it’s not SUPER healthy because of the butter and parmesan but in comparison to how much food this yields it’s really a very small amount per serving.
We really enjoyed this! Especially while watching True Blood. A big thanks to Lauren to introducing me to True Blood. I am forever indebted to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

