Curry in the kitchen

Last night I wanted to use my eggplant and my heirlooms and I went searching for a recipe!
Jon has been talking about wanting Indian food all week and when he heard me talking about trying to find a recipe he beat me to the punch.
He found a recipe in another one of his Indian cookbooks that he wanted me to make.

Although some of the English translation in this book isn’t that good, it’s still a really good cookbook and you can figure out what they mean most of the time.
I started off by microplain grating about a tablespoon of ginger and mincing 3 cloves of garlic. I use my pampered chef slap chop to chop up garlic finely and I am proud of it! You can make fun of me all you want, but this thing makes my garlic go from this…

To this…

In about 4 seconds. Try beating me with a knife, I dare you.
Then finely chop a medium yellow onion and a large tomato (or in my case, an heirloom tomato)
Look how pretty this tomato was on the inside!

Next, I put my 2 medium sized eggplants in a 500 degree oven for 20 minutes.
They started out looking like this

And after 20 minutes in a hot oven, looked like this

I let them cool a little bit, and then peeled off the skin and threw them into a bowl. Take a few paper towels and squish all the liquid out of them until it’s just a semi-dry pulp. Put the pulp onto a cutting board and chop it up. Put the pulp back into the bowl and give it a good stir with a fork and it should look like this

Next, add 9 Tbs of vegetable oil to a pan over medium high heat. Add the ginger and garlic and cook for about a minute. Add the onion and cook until translucent. Now dump in your eggplant pulp and cook for 8 minutes. Lower the heat to medium and add the chopped tomato, half of a cup of frozen peas, season with ground coriander and salt, and cook for another 10 minutes.
While that was working I poured myself a glass of one of my favorite wines

This wine will ALWAYS remind me of wine tasting in the Yakima Valley with the Ellensburg girls and Regan getting super pissed when she asked if she could buy it the minute we walked in the winery and the lady said, “We’ll get to that honey. Just hold on a minute.”
Of course, I had to use my matching glass

OK! Now your curry should be done! I served mine with a side of basmati rice and a piece of frozen (and then cooked) garlic naan from Trader Joe’s.

I plan on keeping my freezer permanently stocked with this garlic naan. It’s super tasty, super cheap, and way easier than making naan.
This curry was easy and really delicious! Indian food is a lot easier to make than you would think, you just need fresh ingredients and the right spices.
Have a happy Monday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

