Stuffed Pepps!

Thank Jesus this weekend is going to be a day longer than usual because I’m going to need that extra day of rest. Today marks the first day of Rodeo Weekend in Ellensburg and I’ll be working my old job (cocktail waitress) at the Starlight all weekend. Rodeo is definitely one of the crazier weekends so I’ve been mentally prepping myself for it since last night. I came home from work and did all the laundry and tidied up the bedroom, and when Jon got home we immediately started discussing dinner. We’ve wanted to use our new Le Creuset dutch oven Jon got for his birthday and make chili last night, but neither of us thought that sounded all that tasty. Then Jon decided that I should make my stuffed peppers, or as we like to call them “stuffed pepps”. I love these stuffed peppers and I’ve made them at least ten times in the last year so I was pumped that he wanted me to make one of my favorite things to cook. Plus, I’ve sort of mastered these stuffed peppers and they’re healthy and delicious.

Here’s a list of what you’ll need:
28oz can of diced tomatoes
1 tsp Italian Seasoning
2 medium zucchini, grated
1/2 cup fresh mint, chopped
1/2 cup grated parmesan, plus extra for sprinkling
1/4 cup olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper
4 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups orzo pasta
6 bell peppers

Preheat oven to 400 degrees
Start out by cracking open your diced, canned tomatoes and dumping them into a large bowl. Sprinkle with the Italian seasoning and then get your hands dirty and squish the big chunks of tomatoes.

Squish until all the bigger chunks are gone.
Now, wash off your zucchini (and your tomato covered hands) and cut off one end on each of them. Take out your handy grater and grate them both.

Throw that into the bowl with the tomatoes. Next, chop up your mint leaves and toss those in there too.
Slap chop your cloves of garlic and add them to the bowl.

Add the parmesan and olive oil to the party and season with salt and pepper. It should look a lot like this:

Oooooh, pretty! NOW STIR!

Set that aside and pour your chicken broth into a sauce pan. Bring it to a boil and add your orzo pasta. Only partially cook the pasta, which will take about 4 minutes. Put a fine colander over a medium bowl (you need to save the broth) and strain the orzo pasta.

Add your orzo to your tomato mixture and give it another good stir.
Now, cut the tops off of all your peppers, scrape out seeds and the spongy core stuff. Some of the peppers won’t stand up very well so I take my knife and cut off a paper thin slice from the bottom to make them stand up.
Fill your peppers with the orzo/tomato mixture and put them into a baking dish. Pour the chicken broth into the bottom of the baking dish.

Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes. Remove from oven, take foil off, and top with more parmesan. Put back in oven for 15 more minutes, or until cheese on top is golden brown.

TA DA! Delicious stuffed pepps!!

If you don’t like these, there seriously might be something wrong with your head and I suggest going to the doctor immediately. I made these like monthly for about 6 months straight. They’re really that good.

Wish me luck with the crazy, drunk cowboys this weekend because I’ll probably need it. Lots of entertaining pictures to come!

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Stuffed Pepps!

  1. made these last night. yum.

  2. no we had them before, i just forgot about them. thanks for reminding me! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pre-Rodeo Chili | The Misadventures of Jaclynn Chan

Leave a Reply

