Pre-Rodeo Chili

I ventured home from the Pendleton Round Up yesterday and boy was it a doozy! I didn’t even try to take my lap top there because the car was WAY too full and cramped, and I’m glad I didn’t. There was barely any internet access anywhere to be found, and AT&T hates Pendleton and doesn’t let you make or receive phone calls or texts. But before I go on and on about how much fun this year’s rodeo was, I’m giving you a recipe for chili. Let the suspense build a bit on what an awesome time it was. The night before Round Up, Sarah came over and we were going to make picture collages for decorations for our lovely hotel room. I promised to make us dinner so I decided on a western themed dinner; red chili and corn bread. Here’s what you’ll need:
1 lb of ground beef
2 Poblano Peppers
1 Jalapeno Pepper
1 large yellow onion
5 cloves of garlic
2 cups of beef broth
1 28oz can of whole tomatoes
1/3 of a small can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
1 Tbs of tomato paste
2 Tbs vegetable oil
cheddar cheese and sour cream for garnish

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Put your poblano peppers on a cookie sheet and roast for about 30-40 minutes. I just kept checking on them until they were a nice black/brown color on the outside.

While those were roasting, I chopped my yellow onion and minced my cloves of garlic. Your kitchen should start smelling pretty good at this point.

I also finely chopped my chipotle peppers (I probably used about 3 of them).

When your poblanos are done roasting, cut them open and scrape all of the seeds out with a spoon. Chop them up into little pieces too. Finely mince your jalapeno pepper. I scraped out the seeds from half of my jalapeno and threw them out to avoid making my chili too spicy. I also used my slap chop to chop up my jalapeno because EVERY time I touch the inside of a jalapeno my hands burn for like 3 days straight.

Take out a large pot (or in my case, a dutch oven) and put your vegetable oil into the pan. Heat and then add your ground beef. Season with chili powder, salt and pepper. Stir until browned and then add your onions and garlic. When the onions start turning translucent, deglaze your pan with the beef broth.

Pour your whole canned tomatoes into a bowl and crush with your hands like I did in my stuffed pepps recipe. Add every kind of pepper you have, plus the hand-crushed tomatoes, your tomato paste, and probably about a teaspoon of that adobo sauce your chipotles came in.

I let this simmer for about 2 1/2 hours. It got thick and delicious and it was pretty spicy. My cornbread was not anything fancy. Lets just say it came from a box and all I had to do was add an egg and some milk and pop it in the oven. We topped our chili with sour cream and cheese and our cornbread with honey, and it was awesome.


We also watched the season finale of True Blood and made collages.

Round Up pictures to come sometime in the near future! In the mean time, make chili.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

