Coconut Granola

Granola and I are pretty close friends now-a-days. I throw some in my oatmeal or cereal nearly every morning. The first batch I made was about 3 months ago and it was pretty mediocre. It wasn’t very sweet and it didn’t have the big clumps stuck together that I expect when I think of granola. I made a new batch on Saturday and it was a total success! I even made this recipe up on my very own without any help from the interweb!

Here’s what you’ll need:

3 cups of oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup pecans
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup prunes
1/4 cup dried blueberries
1/4 cup dried cherries
1/4 cup golden raisins
2 cups apple juice
1/4 cup maple syrup (the REAL stuff)
1/4 cup vegetable oil

Now, ALL of this stuff is sort of unnecessary. I just had all of this stuff in my pantry. All you really need are the oats, the maple syrup, the vegetable oil, some kinds of dried fruit and some kind of nuts or seeds. But this granola was really yummy, so if you want to follow suit I wouldn’t blame you.

First put your apple juice in a sauce pan and bring it to a boil. While that’s heating up roughly chop your prunes into smaller pieces. Once it’s boiling throw in all your dried fruits and let them simmer for about 5 minutes. This is just to moisten and plump them up so that they don’t dry out when you bake the granola.

When they’re all plumped up, strain and set them aside.

Oh! Go preheat your oven to 250F. I always forget to preheat when I’m cooking in my oven, and I’m so impatient I end up putting things in there before it’s ready. Probably not the best idea.

Now, in a large bowl combine your oats, brown sugar, coconut, pecans and pumpkin seeds. Give it a good stir with a big wooden spoon and then add your dried fruits. Stir in the maple syrup and vegetable oil until everything is well coated. Spread the granola out in an even layer on two cookie sheets.

Put them in the PREHEATED oven and bake for an hour and fifteen minutes. Take out and stir it around every 15-20 minutes so that everything toasts evenly. And there you have it! Homemade granola! Tomorrow I’m blogging about a bread recipe that is seriously out of this world and really easy. If you don’t like delicious sourdough bread that’s chewy with a thick crust, then you can just ignore it. But if you like that sort of thing I’ll see you right here tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

