Pot Roast!!

I’ve been having to stop myself from buying anything and everything to fill the empty walls up in our house. There are so many empty, huge walls and I never thought of the fact that I would eventually have to fill them up with something because staring at a huge white wall just isn’t appealing to my eye balls. The white above my mantle has been haunting me since June. I would just stare at it’s stupid, boring whiteness and loath it. I knew I wanted a mirror, but are you aware of how expensive a cool looking mirror is? Pretty expensive. And I just couldn’t justify spending money on a mirror for myself when I have about 900 presents to buy for people for Christmas. And then I went to Pier 1 yesterday with my Mama. If you are searching for a big pretty mirror in Yakima, run to Pier 1 right this minute. They have quite a few mirrors on sale that they’re trying to get rid of. Don’t even finish reading this blog post, go now. First of all, my lovely find used to be $150. It was marked down to $90, which I was willing to pay. It had a big scratch on it though, so I guarded my precious mirror while my Mom went to go find someone to see if they had more in the back. The girl informed us that it was the last one of it’s kind, but since there was a scratch she could give me 20% off AND she would fix the scratches with a wood pen for me! Sold!

Now that is a lovely mirror, if I can say so myself!

On to the food! Do you enjoy a good braised meat? If you say no, then you obviously don’t know what the eff you’re talking about. Enter the Braised Pot Roast. Here’s what you’re going to need:
1 (3-4 lb) pot roast
Olive Oil
Kosher salt
Black pepper
3 large carrots, cut into chunks
4 stalks of celery, cut into chunks
2 red onions, quartered
3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 sprigs of rosemary, leaves pulled off stem and coarsely chopped
1 sprig fresh thyme
1 28 oz can whole tomatoes, hand crushed
1/2 bottle of wine (2 cups)

Place your dutch oven over medium-high heat and cover the bottom of pot with olive oil. While that’s heating up, liberally season both sides of pot roast with salt and pepper.

(sorry all the pictures for this blog are really fuzzy and terrible)
Once dutch oven is hot, place pot roast in pan and brown on all sides. This step takes a little bit of time, so while it’s browning mince your garlic and chop your rosemary. Place into a small bowl and give it a good drizzle of olive oil.

After your meat is browned…

pour your wine into the pot. Next, add your tomatoes, celery, carrots, onions and sprig of thyme and pour your olive oil/rosemary/garlic paste over everything. Place in a 350 degree oven for about 3 hours, checking on it every so often to see if it needs any basting.

After it’s done roasting, take out of the oven and place the meat on a cutting board to rest for about 10 minutes. Place all the vegetables on a plate and cover with foil, leaving only the juices in the pot. Place on a burner over medium-high heat and reduce for about 15 minutes, seasoning with salt and pepper if needed. If you would like your sauce thicker you could add a couple tablespoons of flour. Serve with garlic mashed potatoes.

I know this isn’t the prettiest picture in the world (especially with that weird juice schmere on the front of the plate) but I promise you this is one of the best beef dishes I have ever made. Super tender and really flavorful. Now go forth and buy new mirrors and make delicious pot roasts!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

