Christmas Tree Professional

I always, always put the lights on the Christmas tree.
Since the age of about 10, I was in charge of wrapping lights around the branches of the tree.
This year was no different. Not only did I aid in putting the lights on my parent’s tree, I also put the lights on Jon and mine’s first tree.

TA DA! Our first tree!
We just put it up last night, although I totally would have jumped the gun and put it up a week ago if everyone in my life didn’t talk me out of it.
When I was done putting the lights on the tree we ended up having half a string too much when I got to the top.
I was just going to stuff the extra up Santa’s “hole”, but Jon said we should just wrap it around him.
This Santa IS a Wizard Santa, so glowing is a usual occurrence for him. He’s a wizard!

Behold! Wizard Santa!!!
Then we broke out the ornaments.
The only ornaments we have are ones my Mama gave me from when I was a little kid.
Jon laughed at them as we were putting them up, deeming half of them creepy.
Here are the top 2 he thought were creepy:

Scarecrow from Wizard of Oz. I can see where he’s coming from. He’s always kind of creeped me out.

Little Wooden Girl. I don’t think she’s that creepy.
You want to know who I think is creepy?

Meet the creepiest nutcracker I have ever seen.

I seeeeee youuuu!!

Then, after a couple hours of decorating it was time for dinner! My cousin Krisanna actually told me to make this recipe, and this is my second attempt at making it.
It’s super easy and really good. I just made a couple small changes.

Chevre and Kabocha Squash Penne

Ingredients:
Half of a kabocha squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 1 inch cubes
1 small red onion, chopped
10 button mushrooms, sliced
2 Tbs fresh sage, chopped
2 cloves garlic
4 oz chevre (goats cheese)
1 lb penne pasta

Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees. Arrange your cubes of squash and red onion on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast for about 40 minutes or until squash is fork tender.

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of water to a boil. Season with salt and add noodles. Cook according to directions. Save one cup of pasta water.

Strain and transfer noodles into a large bowl.

Get out a sautee pan and put over medium high heat. Drizzle pan with olive oil and sautee mushrooms and garlic for about 3 minutes. Dump mushrooms, roasted vegetables, and chopped sage into the bowl with the pasta.

Add chevre and pasta water and mix until cheese is melted and everything is incorporated.
Top with a little bit of parmesan and serve!

Like my Christmas table cloth?
Yeah. I thought you’d like that…

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

