Pancakes of 2011

I woke up this morning slightly hungover…
Although our New Years Eve was laid back, we had a good one! We made tons of snacks, played cards, watched movies and had yummy drinks. In case you were curious, champagne + ginger vodka + lemon twist = success. Really delicious.

I knew I needed some yummy breakfast after having a few cocktails last night, and decided to make myself some pancakes. Here’s what you’ll need.

3 eggs
3 Tbs sugar
1/2 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup yogurt

Take your eggs and crack them into a large mixing bowl.

Add the flour, baking powder and salt, combine with a whisk. Whisk in the milk and yogurt.
I then added a secret ingredient.

Vanilla Paste
This stuff is amazing. I got it for Christmas, and it is like someone seeded approximately 1,000 vanilla beans for you and put them in a jar. You know how when you put a vanilla bean in something, the taste is delicious and much better than vanilla extract? And it has those beautiful little specks that you can only get from a vanilla bean? This has those little black specks.
I just put a dollop of this in my batter. It’s not necessary, but I recommend clicking on that link and treating yourself to some.
Put a non-stick pan over medium high heat. Once hot, spray with non-stick spray and pour half of a cup of batter for each pancake.

You can do more than one at a time if you have a bigger non-stick pan than I do. But this is the only one I own….so, don’t make fun of me.
I learned this little trick a long time ago: do you not know when to turn your pancake? I used to not know either. Then, in middle school, my friend Carly taught me that when you see little bubbles on the top of your pancake that’s when you flip!

Flip it!!
I am an awful flipper. I think it’s partially because our pan is so small, and partially because I suck.

Yikes.
I made myself a stack of four and poured on some syrup.

These may not be the prettiest pancakes, but MAN were they good!
The yogurt is a great addition. They were creamy and fluffy and the perfect New Years Day breakfast!

My new years resolution is to start reading more. So to aid in my success, I ordered a Kindle today! Happy 2011…..to myself!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Pancakes of 2011

  1. Katie

    Tremendous! You aspire to be a cook who has heart. Go forth and communicate what you experience. Nothing better can be learned but by doing it and teaching it to others. You inspire others to move forward and try what has not been done, taking chances is part of the journey. Love your voice and simplicity.

Leave a Reply

