Cooking Isn’t a Chore

In our house cooking is NOT a chore.
Jon has tried the ‘ol “Well, I cooked so you should clean” trick on me many times. Nice try.
Cooking in our house is fun for both of us. Sometimes we have to call dibbs on who gets to cook. Last night when I got home from work I immediately called dibbsies.
Jon was sort of sick, so he was being more opinionated about what dinner should be than usual.
He is much more laid back than I am. I am terribly high strung and controlling, and he is neither of those things.

I pulled a couple of cookbooks off of our bookshelf that is for cookbooks, and only cookbooks. I plopped down on the couch next to Jon and started spouting off things that sounded good to me.
“I could make carbonara. Does that sound good?”
“No.”
“Okay *flipflipflip*. I kind of want corned beef hash, does corned beef hash sound good?”
“No.”
(stared at him in a “well what the hell do you want” kind of way)
“I want Chinese food.”

Fine. Chinese food it is. No cookbook required.
I’m really good at making up stir fry.
Beef and tons-o-veggies stir fry.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1/2 lb stir fry meat
1 carton mushrooms (sliced)
2 small carrots (peeled and julienned)
1 red bell pepper (also julienned)
1 cup snap peas
1/2 small onion (chopped)
1 tsp fresh ginger (minced)
3 cloves garlic (minced)
1 Tbs rice vinegar
4 Tbs cooking sherry
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 Tbs mirin
1 tsp sesame oil
1/3 cup Shezwan stir fry sauce (found in oriental foods isle)
2 Tbs vegetable oil

Combine rice vinegar, 1/2 the sherry, soysauce, mirin and sesame oil in a medium sized bowl. Add stir fry steak and evenly coat.

Mmm…does this not look super appetizing? Slug looking pieces of steak in a metal bowl? Makes me want stir fry just looking at this picture.
Cover with saran wrap and allow to marinate in the fridge for about an hour.
Meanwhile, correctly cut up all your veggies.

Once meat is done marinating, heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add vegetable oil. Once pan is very hot, place steak in one even layer in skillet.

The bottom of the pan will start to brown, add remaining sherry to hot pan. Cook steak for about 2 minutes, then remove to a bowl and set aside. Add more vegetable oil to pan. Keeping pan very hot, add carrots, onion, red pepper, mushrooms and snap peas. Stir for about 3 minutes, then add your ginger and garlic.

Pour Shezwan sauce over veggies, then add meat back to pan. Cook for an additional minute or so.

You can serve with a couple of ways. Jon and I couldn’t agree on what sounded better; noodles or rice….so we made both. Jon cooked oriental noodles off, and then added about 2 Tbs of vegetable oil to a hot pan. Then he dumped his noodles in there, let them brown on one side, flipped them like a pancake and browned them on the other side. Seasoned them with sesame oil and scooped some stir fry on top of it. For myself, I made brown rice and had 2 servings.

Brown rice = healthier option = I can eat twice as much as Jon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

